skip to Main Content
Click here to support area artists affected by the COVID-19 virus.
2005 First Night Raleigh

About First Night Raleigh

In the summer of 1990, Artsplosure’s Board of Directors committed to creating a special community New Year’s Eve celebration in downtown. First Night Raleigh was born, joining 100 other cities worldwide in a joyful, family-oriented, alcohol-free New Year’s Eve celebration of the arts. Admission buttons, worn proudly by participants, make First night Raleigh the most accessible, inexpensive and safe way to celebrate the New Year. Attendance was estimated for First Night Raleigh ‘92 at 15,000-20,000 on December 31, 1991. This amazing public response paved the way for plans to produce a bigger, more spectacular First Night Raleigh. The event has grown to be the largest New Year’s Eve event held in Eastern North Carolina. Recent First Night celebrations have exceeded all expectations with attendance at over 40,000 people. The city’s Millennium Celebration culminated with First Night Raleigh 2000, and attracted 75,000 people from all over the state.

First Night came into existence in Boston in 1976 at the end of the country’s Bicentennial Celebration to bring the neighboring communities of the city together in a joint celebration, while providing the public with an alternative way of ushering in the New Year. Since 1980 the concept has inspired many communities to start their own First Night Celebrations in the United States from Cape Cod to Honolulu, plus Canada, Australia, and the United Kingdom. The International Alliance of First Night Celebrations connects the First Night Celebrations throughout the world.

First Night Raleigh 2005 Production Team

Executive Director, Michael Lowder
Program Director, Terri Dollar
Business Manager, Ellen Landau
Marketing & Promotions Manager, Crista Misenheimer
Festival Operations Assistant, Dylan Morris,
Technical Supervisor, Jeff Linker
Children’s Celebration Coordinator, Chase Bryan
Signage, The Sign Shop
Venue Management, Matthew Smith
Volunteer Coordinator, Lucinda Chew
Honorary Chairs , Julia & Frank Daniels, Jr.

First Night Raleigh 2004-2005 Board of Directors

Lee Kirby, President
Helen White, Vice President
Steve Bryan, Secretary
Diane Gupton Becton, Treasurer
Ken Barnes, Immediate Past President
Ann-Cabell Baum Andersen
Mary-Ann Baldwin
Bob Bonds
Marion Bolz
Clymer Cease
Michael Daly
Woody Dicus
Benji Jones
Lany McDonald
John McKinney
Camille Patterson
Andy Reyes
Crystal Sadler
Pearl Wilson Smith
Barbara Stephens
Kevin Worrell

Artsplosure, The Raleigh Arts Festival
336 Fayetteville Street, Suite 405
Raleigh, NC 27601
tel: 919-832-8699
fax: 919-832-0890

Back To Top